Floating Employees

If you have certain employees that float between departments or locations and you set up linked accounts, every member of the Float Pool staff will need to have a separate login in each account. They will have to enter preferences, Time Off requests, etc. in each of the various accounts. They won’t be able to trade shifts across locations, and they’ll have multiple independent schedules to manage. This is cumbersome, and the likelihood of them being double-booked (assigned to more than one shift at a time) is high. You will also pay for all logins separately – each login is one ‘active employee login’ so your Float Pool employees would be counted several times.

 

We recommend instead that you manage the whole group, all locations plus the Float Pool staff, in one account. In this way you’ll pay for the float employees just once, and they will have only one account to manage. Managers in each location will know whether the Float Pool staff is already working a shift for another department, and they can more easily trade shifts as needed.

 

There are certain strategies you may want to enact to make it work smoothly.

 

1. You can add the department information into the Positions like "Maternity - RN," "Cardiology - RN" so that the Positions include both the department and job name.  Then you can edit each employee to work the appropriate departments and jobs, and when you create shifts you select the Position that represents the department and job for the shift and the employees able to work that shift will appear.

 

Once your department-specific positions are set up, you can view a certain group of your Positions at a time using what we call a "Position Group."  You’ll want to create a Position Group for each department (one for Maternity, one for Cardiology, etc.) and perhaps also for job types -- one group for all RN positions, etc. 

 

You will now be able to filter the schedule views and employee lists to see only a specific department.  The managers for each department can filter the schedule to just their group, and Import and Autofill, etc. without impacting other departments.

 

2. You can edit employee names for your Float Pool so that you can see them at a glance (perhaps following their last name with an asterisk and an 'F,' etc.).  Float Pool employees could be enabled to work all relevant positions, across locations. 

 

3. Note that where Maximum Hours are set to '0', Autofill will not assign that employee to any shifts, but the employee will be able to pick up or cover shifts on the tradeboard (as per the permissions you've set).  So if your Float Pool employees are set to 0 Max Hours, Autofill will not assign them on your regular schedules, but they’ll be able to cover shifts as needed via the tradeboard.

 

4. In our system, Publishing is an account-wide action.  It is not possible to Publish just a portion of the schedule separately if the whole organization is contained within one account. When you Publish a week, the ENTIRE schedule for ALL positions/categories is Published – so if the other positions have set up a schedule and the manager clicks Publish, everyone’s schedule will be published simultaneously.

 

This means when the one department Publishes the schedule, any department who hasn't entered a schedule will be displaying a blank schedule.

 

When another department is ready, a manager could Unpublish the schedule (making the week’s schedule go blank for a while) and then import their shifts, Autofill them, etc., and then publish again.  The first department’s shifts will reappear as they were before, and the Published schedule will now contain both departments’ shifts.

 

It is also possible to edit a Published schedule, so departments can add and edit shifts to the schedule while it is Published.  Import and Autofill, however, can only be accomplished in an Unpublished schedule.  (But you can Unpublish and Publish as often as you like without damaging or destroying data.)

 

At SETTINGS > Company/My Info you can disable the automated notifications when the schedule is Published and Unpublished (simply set “SEND NOTICES on Publish/Unpublish” to 'No'.) 

 

If that option is set to not send notices, it also turns off the default checkbox for sending notices when you change Published schedules, so you must manually check the box in order for the change emails to go out to the affected employees.

 

Instead, managers can use the Send Schedule Reminder feature to send out schedules to just their own employees.  They can filter the employee list (at EMPLOYEES > List Employees) to their own Position Group and check off the employees to remind (or using the 'select all' box at the top of the column) and then clicking the 'Schedule Reminder' link centered above that list.

 

Schedule reminders will be immediately emailed to the ‘checked off’ employees who have shifts assigned during the date range that you specify, and who have set up notifications with a valid email address.  For step-by-step directions and screenshots please see: http://mgrhelp.when2work.com/h-sub-auto-sched-week/h-send-reminders






float pool staff, move between departments locations per diem